Page 1 of 1

Automatic Update of Dashboards

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2008 2:40 pm
by Andy Roden
Is it possible to create a dashboard and then have the dashboard to automatically refresh itself?

The idea being, the Manager has the dashboard on screen and the contents update without the user having to press F5 to refresh the screen.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 10:42 am
by admin
Hi Andy,

It is fairly easy to do with this little trick:

On your dashboard, in the tab named rules, simply enter something like:
Code: Select all
</script>
<META HTTP-EQUIV=REFRESH CONTENT=60>
<script>



The Rules tab is really there to make advanced javascript field validation on forms, but actually any valid javascript/html can be placed here. The section is automatically surrounded by script tags, which is why I start with a closing tag and end with a fresh start tag.
The line
Code: Select all
<META HTTP-EQUIV=REFRESH CONTENT=60>
refreshes the dashboard every 60 seconds.

Bo

PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 12:26 pm
by Andy Roden
Thanks for the reply Bo, that seems to have done the trick.

PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2008 12:28 pm
by Andy Roden
While this appears to have done the trick. We are now experiencing the problem whereby once we have been on the dashboard page, if we then navigate away from it and go to another completely seperate report, after the given time interval, the dashboard is being refreshed and displayed.

Any suggestions?

PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2008 12:59 pm
by admin
Hi Andy,

I am sorry -I can see how that would be a bit annoying... I will try to find a way around it and get back to you.

Bo

PostPosted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 12:55 am
by Carsten Sørensen
Hi Andy,

We believe we have found a solution that we'll try to implement to make this more smooth :-) - in the meantime what you can do with the solution that Bo previously mentioned is to load the Dashboard page into a New Tab or New Window - that should avoid conflicts when opening any other items in the normal framework.

Best regards,
Carsten

PostPosted: Thu Oct 09, 2008 5:55 pm
by Carsten Sørensen
Hi Andy,

We've found a solution that works well on Internet Explorer, but unfortunately not on Firefox 2 and Chrome. We have not tested other browsers..

Code: Select all
var  RefreshID = setInterval("window.location.reload()",10000);
function StopRefresh(){
   clearInterval(RefreshID);
}
window.attachEvent('onresize', StopRefresh);


the 10000 is miliseconds (=10 seconds)

Hope that helps you a bit

Best regards,
Carsten

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2008 8:25 am
by Andy Roden
Thanks for that. We will give that a go and let you know how we get on.