Sorting groups by number of rows contained

Technical support

Moderators: Bob Cergol, Data Access, Cintac

Sorting groups by number of rows contained

Postby rrr » Thu Nov 28, 2013 10:52 am

Hi,

I'm having some difficulties getting a simple sort working.

With lots of rows grouped by any value I'd like to sort it so that groups containing the most rows are listed first, etc.

Any input?

thanks
rrr
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 9:13 am
Location: Aarhus, Denmark

Re: Sorting groups by number of rows contained

Postby admin » Thu Nov 28, 2013 11:32 am

Hi Rrr,

You have to make your report a "top list":
specify a sort order on your total
set a max number of rows to include
see http://support.dynamicai.com/images/screenshots/boa/2013-11-28_1130.png

Best regards

Bo
User avatar
admin
Certified Dynamic AI Professional
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: Sorting groups by number of rows contained

Postby rrr » Thu Nov 28, 2013 12:30 pm

Hi Bo

Thanks for the advice.

It doesn't work for me though. I'm not counting a number in each row, e.g. FX, but the number of rows.
I've set that up by adding a Total using Count. Then each group lists the total, as it should. But the sort is not kicking in.

See the attachment showing the sort-setting.

thanks

Br,
Robert
Attachments
ai.JPG
ai.JPG (19.51 KiB) Viewed 4807 times
rrr
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 9:13 am
Location: Aarhus, Denmark

Re: Sorting groups by number of rows contained

Postby admin » Thu Nov 28, 2013 12:54 pm

Hi Robert,
Have you set the top xx value?
It should work for count as well..

Here's a simple example:
http://support.dynamicai.com/images/screenshots/boa/2013-11-28_1252.swf
User avatar
admin
Certified Dynamic AI Professional
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark


Return to Technical Support

cron